The things we take for granted.

James 1:17

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

I am finally relaxing and able to write. I’m so overjoyed with my new stove and refrigerator!Two things I took for granted in the states. But here in Mexico? No way. We lived in an old concrete house for a year, 1500 pesos for no furniture but a broke down cook top,a roof with so many holes the rain was as bad inside as out,and windows we had to cover with cardboard and plastic. No hot water, toilet constantly backing up,and the walls pealing and cracking under the mold.  

Yet everyday I thanked my Heavenly Father and believed we’d have better. We used an ice chest for the longest until we found a small compact frig. We bought a nice bed. Miguel tried to fix things but the landlady wanted the work and materials for free. When the drywall fell into the kitchen after a hard rain I said that’s it. But we didn’t start looking for someplace else. Instead we started praying in earnest for God to provide. Saying He did just that is putting it mildly!

We ended up renting a nice little house owned by a couple in our branch,for less rent.Clean,fresh paint,fully functioning bathroom, furniture,and a real oven and full size refrigerator!

I can actually keep ice cream now and cook brownies in the stove. Along with my slow cooker and the electric skillet the sister brought over I’m really cookin’! 

My Father is so good to me. I have learned so much since I’ve been in Mexico. I never thought of myself as a materialistic person but I realize that I don’t need all the extras I thought I did. I’m content to let the Lord provide the things I need when He knows I’m ready for them. I rarely worry over situations where it seems we might not have enough or all we need. When I do start to fret I praise Him more for what we do have. He always answers my prayers. 

When I broke my shoulder and was out of work He kept us above the water line.He  provides me with enough work to meet my needs and Miguel’s work pays the bills. We are so blessed.

He blesses me with good people to work with. Almost everyone I have cared for are good,Christian people. I have been blessed to have them as friends and often prayer partners. Some of them have passed,but they have all brought more of the Spirit into my life. 

I have been blessed to be a part of some of the most awesome wards and branches in the Church. I’m blessed to be loved by my brothers and sisters wherever I go. And I never take that for granted. They bring such joy, love,and light into my life.And we all need that now in our crazy world.

About lindabalderas

I'm a wife,mom,and grandmother and a thankful Latter-day Saint living and serving in Mexico,on the Border no less! Life is great!

Posted on March 11, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Heart of Mexico

Life, food, and family Mexican style

Mountains and Mustard Seeds

Don't try to move mountains by yourself. You'll hurt your back. God can help.

Our Immigration Journey

The real Cost of a broken immigration system

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Surviving Mexico

Adventures and Disasters

The Irreverent Kitchen

Ain't nothing but a party!

Before 3 pm

Getting it all done before the kids get home!

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Un-Adventures In Bolivia

An Unexpected Expat

Running on Sober

This blog is on permanent hiatus, thank you for your support.

hashtagveganswag

Becoming vegan

Keep Esperanza

Hope for Hurting Teens

Beyond Tenacious

Virtually Inspired Freelance Writing & Photography

http://www.rmaxinternational.com/flowcoach

My life and family on both sides of the border

Don Day in SMA

Eat and Drink Your Way Through San Miguel de Allende

Diapers and Divinity

Finding Faith in Motherhood

a trEATs affair

treats, travel & eats

