Representation?

As I am relaxing here in my new little abode,I’m pondering on all the brouhaha going on in the states and thanking our Heavenly Father that we are here in Acuña.I am not stressing it other than to keep my gente in prayer. If everyone would love one another as Christ says our world would be rich in blessings. He said to love others as we love ourselves. From the looks of things a whole lot of people sure hate themselves. So sad.

As the American citizen spouse of a deportee I have asked myself why I and my fellow American citizen spouses are not being represented,yet are still required to pay taxes. That is taxation wirhout representation.Virtually no one on Capitol Hill acknowledges that we even exist. Out of sight,out of mind.The few that do are shut out and shut up by the current administration.

Everyone is protesting the travel ban, worried about the DACA youth, fighting for the undocumented still in the states. But who is fighting for us,for family reunifucation? The powers that be and their minions are so hell-bent on purging the land and destroying more families that it’s futile to even broach the subject. They are so busy trying  to keep people out, that we who have essentially been deported with our spouses,can’t be heard.

The very people who are ranting about the undocumented know the least about immigration laws. I can’t begin to tell you how many people believe that if an immigrant marries a citizen a green card is automatically  handed to them.  Doesn’t work that way folks. It takes lots of time and lots of money. If you have money it’s easier. Take the first lady for example,and it’s only an example,no judgement intended.

She worked illegally,without authorization,which made her,”illegal”. But her spouse has big bucks and clout so she never faced any punishment for her crime. I’m not saying she shouldn’t have been allowed to stay,but what about the other couples and families who don’t have the means or power. Shouldn’t there be a way to help them?  Why are they kicked to the curb and given 5,10,20,and lifetime bans for what are most often minor infractions? That’s not to say there are not really bad criminals that need to be out, but by and large,most of them are not threats to society,but contribute in a good way to their communities.

We want to be heard,we want to be represented. We don’t want our tax money to be spent on more militarization on the border,more  detention centers,a wall that reminds us that we aren’t wanted either. 

It truly saddens me that my own country doesn’t welcome my husband. His country has certainly welcomed me. The people have been more than hospitable to me. A lot of it has to do with the LDS church,but aside from the members,everyone is kind and helpful to me. No one treats me with disdain or malice because of what is going on in Washington,because I’m light skinned,or my Spanish is so poor. I feel loved and accepted. It breaks my heart that this isn’t reciprocated by my own country.But…

Today is a beautiful day and I will rejoice and be glad in it here in Acuña.

About lindabalderas

I'm a wife,mom,and grandmother and a thankful Latter-day Saint living and serving in Mexico,on the Border no less! Life is great!

Posted on February 18, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mountains and Mustard Seeds

Don't try to move mountains by yourself. You'll hurt your back. God can help.

Our Immigration Journey

The real Cost of a broken immigration system

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Surviving Mexico

Adventures and Disasters

The Irreverent Kitchen

Ain't nothing but a party!

Before 3 pm

Getting it all done before the kids get home!

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Un-Adventures In Bolivia

An Unexpected Expat

Running on Sober

This blog is on permanent hiatus, thank you for your support.

hashtagveganswag

Becoming vegan

Keep Esperanza

Hope for Hurting Teens

Beyond Tenacious

Virtually Inspired Freelance Writing & Photography

http://www.rmaxinternational.com/flowcoach

My life and family on both sides of the border

Don Day in SMA

Eat and Drink Your Way Through San Miguel de Allende

Diapers and Divinity

Finding Faith in Motherhood

The Deportee's Wife

Until there is no need to write about what needs to change.

a trEATs affair

treats, travel & eats

