Who do you serve?

“You might serve the devil,or you might serve the Lord,but everybody gotta serve someone.”-Bob Dylan

 As a United States citizen in Mexico I am in a unique position to view what is transpiring in my country from the outside. It saddens me. Just because we are a people of affluence,privilege, and power doesn’t make us right in our Lord’s eyes.

 Trump’s followers are  ranting about those who say he’s not our president. The other side is adamant in their dissension. The hatred and pure ugliness is boiling like a pot of milk,bubbling over and making a huge mess.

There have been unrighteous,wicked rulers since time began because we are wicked,period. Let’s call a spade a spade. If we say we aren’t then we are lying,and that is wickedness. The United States is filled with corruption, bigotry,hate and selfihness. We are like children on the school yard fighting and scrapping,name calling and bullying, demanding to be right.

So many were clamoring for Trump. Give us a real leader! We don’t want a politician, but someone who is for the people.Well,now we’ve got him. 

In 1st Samuel history teaches us of Saul, the 1st king of Israel. The people were clamoring and whining for a king. Samuel went to the Lord for them and He told Samuel He would give them what they asked for but that it was not what He wanted and it would be to their detriment. You can check it out for yourselves starting in 1st Samuel 8.

Saul started out as a basicly decent man,but still ended up failing miserably and taking Israel into much grief. He was power hungry and an angry  man. Pretty much like Trump,except from all observation,Trump is not in the least a Godly man.

Of course he’s not the first ruler to be wicked and the US isn’t the first country to fall,as usuredly she will. I don’t say that because I don’t love my country and am not thankful for the blessings of my birth. But I must see the truth and pray for discernment. 

So,with that said,at this troubling time in the world,not just my country, I claim no man as my president. The scriptures say the government will be on Christ’s shoulders,not a man’s.I will put my trust and allegiance in Him. I will live for Him and obey Him even if that means coming into opposition with the powers that be.

Yes I know the scriptures admonish us to be subject to kings,rulers,and the government. But that doesn’t mean that we must agree or follow them to destruction and the lose of our eternal salvation. The Apostle Paul was subject to Rome and gave his life for the gospel of Jesus Christ. In the Book of Mormon,Mosiah 11:20-17:20 is told the history of a wicked king and the prophet Abinidah who also gave His life for the Lord. 

And of course the ultimate sacrifice for us in that Christ gave His life for us. He is my King and I will live for Him. That means I will pray for our president and his chosen advisors and for my fellow citizens. I will not hate. I will continue to serve and do good to everyone. I will keep turning my heart to Him.

But I will not be blinded to the evil I see happening or make excuses for behaviors and attitudes that hurt others. 

About lindabalderas

I'm a wife,mom,and grandmother and a thankful Latter-day Saint living and serving in Mexico,on the Border no less! Life is great!

Posted on January 26, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mountains and Mustard Seeds

Don't try to move mountains by yourself. You'll hurt your back. God can help.

Our Immigration Journey

The real Cost of a broken immigration system

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Surviving Mexico

Adventures and Disasters

The Irreverent Kitchen

Ain't nothing but a party!

Before 3 pm

Getting it all done before the kids get home!

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Un-Adventures In Bolivia

An Unexpected Expat

Running on Sober

This blog is on permanent hiatus, thank you for your support.

hashtagveganswag

Becoming vegan

Keep Esperanza

Hope for Hurting Teens

Beyond Tenacious

Virtually Inspired Freelance Writing & Photography

http://www.rmaxinternational.com/flowcoach

My life and family on both sides of the border

Don Day in SMA

Eat and Drink Your Way Through San Miguel de Allende

Diapers and Divinity

Finding Faith in Motherhood

The Deportee's Wife

Until there is no need to write about what needs to change.

a trEATs affair

treats, travel & eats

