Ouch!!!

Roughly 12 weeks ago I body-slammed myself on my concrete porch and broke my right arm and shattered my shoulder. Talk about pain! It was worse than debilitating. But being the tough old bird that I am,I managed to flop onto my back and used my left hand and my legs to prop myself into a sitting position. I scooted to the wall and inched my way up and was able to stagger into the kitchen and drop into a chair. My 84 year old land lady hobbled inside and proceeded to ask if I was still able to go pay her phone bill! Really woman ? Do you not see I’m having a major event here?

 That was where I was headed when the disaster occured. Yes,trying to do a good deed I ended up sabotaging myself. That’s how it usually works for me. Do a good deed,cut my own throat so to speak. 

But to continue the story,Miguel walked in the door just as I was screaming in pain and repeating,’It’s broken,oh Jesus please help me!’

 Now as my family can tell you when Miguel gets upset he’s like a chihuahua on crack. He was trying to help but he was so frantic and worried it was hurting worse. He wanted to take me up to the local hospital but I was like’NO!!! I’ll drive myself across the river to Del Rio!’ And that’s just what I did. The border patrol officer was awesome and passed me right through. A friend was working triage that night and she met me there so I wasn’t all alone. But the most awesome part was the way the members of the church ,my family,and my Heavenly Father worked together for my good.

My older daughter in Georgia called her brother and he called his Bishop there in Atlanta who called the Bishop in Del Rio who called the missionary elders who came to the hospital and administered a priesthood blessing over me. 

And even though we are struggling now because I can’t work yet,my bones are healing wonderfully! I’m in occupational therapy now twice a week and I’m only on my second visit and already I have eighty per cent mobility and I can do almost everything I could before the accident! I worked with the machines today and a lift bar. I’m not gonna lie -it hurt!!! But the progress is so worth it.

 Our spirits are the same. We need to work them,test and stretch them. Go beyond our comfort zone. Sometimes it hurts,but the blessings are worth the pain. 

I have therapy again tomorrow and I’m looking forward to the challenge because I know Father has great physical blessings for me. And I look forward to my spiritual tests too because I know He intends to bless me way beyond anything I can fathom!

 

About lindabalderas

I'm a wife,mom,and grandmother and a thankful Latter-day Saint living and serving in Mexico,on the Border no less! Life is great!

Posted on January 17, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The image of Miguel like a chihuahua on crack is hilarious!! So glad to hear that you are recovering so well!

Leave a Reply

My Heart of Mexico

Life, food, and family Mexican style

Mountains and Mustard Seeds

Don't try to move mountains by yourself. You'll hurt your back. God can help.

Our Immigration Journey

The real Cost of a broken immigration system

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Surviving Mexico

Adventures and Disasters

The Irreverent Kitchen

Ain't nothing but a party!

Before 3 pm

Getting it all done before the kids get home!

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Un-Adventures In Bolivia

An Unexpected Expat

Running on Sober

This blog is on permanent hiatus, thank you for your support.

hashtagveganswag

Becoming vegan

Keep Esperanza

Hope for Hurting Teens

Beyond Tenacious

Virtually Inspired Freelance Writing & Photography

http://www.rmaxinternational.com/flowcoach

My life and family on both sides of the border

Don Day in SMA

Eat and Drink Your Way Through San Miguel de Allende

Diapers and Divinity

Finding Faith in Motherhood

a trEATs affair

treats, travel & eats

